English News

14 out of 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka will go for voting tomorrow in the Second phase on the 18th April 2019

New Delhi: The State of Karnataka will go to the polls today on 18th April 2019 in Phase 02 of the General Elections. Out of total 28, only14 Parliamentary constituencies in the state are scheduled to go to polls in a second phase. The state has two-phase polling. The State has a total electorate of  2,63,38,277 in this phase out of which 1,33,52,234 are male electors, 1,29,83,284 are female electors and 2,759 belong to third gender category. There are 30,410 polling stations set up in the state in this phase.

In this phase there are a total of 241 candidates ( out of which 17 are women) in the fray.

Party-wise break-up of contesting candidates for the forthcoming polls in Karnataka(Phase 2).

No. of Parliamentary Constituencies This phase – Phase II






Contesting Party details: Party No. of Contesting Candidates


BJP 13
INC 10
JDS(Secular) 4
BSP 14
CPI(Marxist) 1
Others 65
Independents 133
Total (this phase):


Women candidates (This phase):


No. of candidates 241 241

The seats won by the political parties which participated in the General Elections in 2014 and their vote shares in the state of Karnataka are given below:

No. of Parliamentary Constituencies Total              28             

SC:                 05



Contested Party


Main Parties Seats won in 2014 Percentage of votes polled in 2014
BJP 17 43.83%
INC 09 41.27%
JDS 02 11.73%
Others 3.17%



Seats won by parties in SC constituencies in General Election 2014

S.No. Constituency Category Winner Social Category Party
1 Bijapur SC Ramesh Jigajinagi SC BJP
2 Chamarajanagar SC R.Dhruvanarayana SC INC
3 Chitradurga SC B.N.Chandrappa SC INC
4 Gulbarga SC MallikarjunKharge SC INC
5 Kolar SC K.H.Muniyappa SC INC

Seats won by parties in ST constituencies in General Election 2014

S.No. Constituency Category Winner Social Category Party
1 Bellary ST B.Sreeramula ST BJP
2 Raichur ST B.V.Nayak ST INC

Interesting titbits :

Karnataka saw close contests in as many as 4 Lok Sabha seats in General Elections 2014, where the winning margin was less than 10,000 votes – Raichur, Chikkodi, Mandya, and Chikkballapur

Related Articles

Back to top button